In India? 85 is just mediocrity.The reason is simple. In other countries, only 70 % of the kids come to a stage when they need marks to get into college. In India, almost 90% of the kids are in that situation. Hence the competition is more and fierce. For the very first time, you could say that this competition is BAD!
Why is it like that? Why does everyone in India MUST study? We do not produce sports players from High school, we do not produce musicians from high school and we do not produce politicians from high school. All the Indian Educations system does is, it produces candidates who are suitable to enter AIMS and IITs.
A Famous quote reads as below
What would have Mark Zuckerburg done if he was an Indian? The answer is quite true - "He would have WORKED in Facebook"True, isn't it? We people do not take the initiative, we just follow the plan. This is all because of the Indian Educational System!
Do you know that other countries lets their students to choose majors in high school? There is nothing like this here. Even if you take a brave move and choose the Commerce group, you get discriminated!
What is wrong in not studying Engineering or Medicine? What will happen if this state continues? Simple. You will not have people to do your work because all of them you know will be Engineers!